I work as a Web Developer at a company somewhere in Utah (that’s all you getting :) ).

Each day when I come into work my team and I go over the progress we made the previous day, then determine how much work will be done today. Then the next day we see what progress was made today and how much progress we’ll make tomorrow, and so on. My manager calls these project days, but I like to refer to each day as a new iteration of the product.

Why?

Because each day the product is improved, which means that it is an entirely NEW product. It is nothing like the product that we were working on the day before.

I was driving home the other day when I started thinking about my self improvement goals…

Then it hit me.

I’m a new iteration of myself.

I’m an ongoing project that is improved upon each day, and each day I decide just how much progress I want to make towards the goal of eventually being perfect.

Give me an example sir.

My most recent goal is to minimize the amount of money I spend each paycheck and have a little left over for the next week.

I’ve been at this for about 8 weeks now, and I’m finally getting close to reaching my goal.

The first week I overspent by a huge margin…

The next week… I still overspent but it margin was a bit smaller.

This went on and on each week but, IĀ overspentĀ a little less until I started breaking even.

Now, I have a surplus each paycheck.

So what happened?

Each check was a new iteration.

I looked at what went wrong the previous check, learned from my mistakes, and applied it to the next round.

When you look at things that way, you’ll find that you’re always making progress. Even when it seems like you’re barely making any at all.

 

So keep it up soldier.

You’ve got work to do.

